One question that comes up again and again, is how messaging works in SponsoredTweets. Most of the options are the same for both Tweeters and Advertisers, but there are a few key differences.
Every offer a Tweeter gets expires in 3 days or less. That doesn’t leave much time for them to be notified about the offer, write and submit it. Because of this we have to be able to contact all Tweeters in the system via whatever method they prefer. Right now, Tweeters can choose between Email, Twitter Direct Message and Notifo.
All messages we send immediately as they occur and Tweeters will be able to act on them in seconds instead of hours. You can change your notification settings by logging into SponsoredTweets and changing your notify via settings on your My Account page.
Why am I following @spontwts on Twitter?
One of the notification options Tweeters can select is Twitter direct message. In order to receive direct messages from our Twitter account, @spontwts, we have to be following you, and you have to be following us. We automatically keep this mutual following relationship going as long as you have an active account and have selected to receive notifications through direct message.
As long as you choose be notified through “Direct Message”, we’ll re-follow you, and you’ll re-follow us whenever there’s a message for you. We’re planning on a change to this in the future where if you have choose to receive messages via direct message, and you unfollow @spontwts, we’ll deactivate your account and stop all messages. Keep an eye on the blog for more details on this.
How do I turn Notifications off?
Due to the time sensitive nature of offers in SponsoredTweets, turning off notifications means deactivating your account — and that advertisers won’t be able to make offers to you. You won’t show up in the Sponsored These Tweeters page, and your public profile page will no longer be available.
In order to deactivate your account, login and do to your My Account page. Under my info and settings, there is a button to deactivate my account. By clicking on that your account is effectively closed, although you can reopen it at anytime.
There’s a number of other things you can do on Twitter to try to turn off notifications including: unfollowing @spontwts, reporting @spontwts as spam or blocking @spontwts. However, since you’ve granted full access to your Twitter account through the Twitter API, none of these will affect if we can send you messages or not. What you really need to do is revoke our API access to your account.
How do I revoke API access from SponsoredTweets?
Since SponsoredTweets is a whitelisted Twitter account, and accesses your account through the Twitter API, blocking access is extremely easy and can be done without even logging into SponsoredTweets. Login to your Twitter account and go Settings >> Connections. This page is a list of all applications that have access to your account. Find SponsoredTweets on the list and click revoke access.
After revoking access, your SponsoredTweets account will be automatically deactivated within a few days. We will not be able to send any Tweets from your account, have your account follow us, or send messages to you once you stop following @spontwts on Twitter.
Most notifications for Advertisers work exact the same as for Tweeters, including Twitter DM, Email and Notifo. Advertisers have 2 other options through — “no notifications” and “daily email summary”.